Destination fee: what it is and which hotels charge it

A destination fee is a mandatory charge a hotel adds for every night of a stay, named after where the hotel is rather than what it has. Of the 494 hotels in our data whose own website said either way, 114 call their fee a destination fee, in 25 cities: from $2.00 to $54.00 a night (median $30.00), before tax. Every one is listed below with its own page and the date we read it.

By Nicholas Salvato, Founder. Published .

Hotels naming a destination fee

114

Cities

25

Median a night, before tax

$30.00

Read on the hotels’ own websites through 20 September 2026. A hotel counts when its own name for the fee has the word “destination” in it: 23.08% of the 494 hotels whose page said either way. Hotels we could not confirm are in no figure; a page we could not read has told us nothing.

What is a destination fee?

It is the kind of charge a resort fee is: an amount per night that the hotel adds to the bill whether or not you use anything it is said to cover, and that you cannot decline. The name points outward, at the city, as though the fee were the price of being somewhere. It is part of the price of the room.

The hotels write the name 11 ways: “Destination Fee” (65), “Destination Amenity Fee” (19), “Destination charge” (10), “Daily Mandatory Destination Charge” (7), “Daily Destination Fee” (5), and 6 others.

Resort fee, destination fee, facility fee and amenity fee are four names for one kind of charge; destination fee, facility fee, resort fee is about the names, and this page is the hotels that use this one.

How much is a destination fee?

From $2.00 to $54.00 a night (median $30.00), before tax, across the 114 hotels. 77 say tax is added on top, 6 say nothing is added on top and 31 do not say. Nothing added on top can mean the figure already includes the tax. It is charged every night: multiply it by your nights, or let the calculator do it for a hotel on this page.

11 hotels attach a condition to the fee on their own page, printed beside the hotel below; no figure here applies it. 5 hotels name another mandatory charge beside it, listed and never added in: what other fees hotels charge.

What does a destination fee cover?

Counted once per hotel, out of the 106 of 114 hotels that say what their destination fee covers. The most common are Wi-Fi or internet, fitness center or gym and a food or drink credit. A hotel that lists nothing has not said its fee covers nothing, and an item on the list is not a reason to pay it: the fee is the same whether or not you use any of it.

  • Wi-Fi or internet97 of 106
  • Fitness center or gym61 of 106
  • A food or drink credit50 of 106
  • Coffee or tea49 of 106
  • Bottled water38 of 106
  • Bicycles36 of 106
  • Local or long-distance phone calls28 of 106
  • Pool access or pool equipment26 of 106
  • Spa, sauna or steam room11 of 106
  • Beach chairs, umbrellas or towels7 of 106
  • Parking7 of 106
  • Shuttle or local transport6 of 106
  • Newspaper2 of 106

What resort fees in general are said to cover is in what does a resort fee cover.

Destination amenity fee

21 hotels call the charge a destination amenity fee, or a name with both words in it. They are in the lists below and on the hotel amenity fee page as well: the hotel used both words, so it is counted under both.

Which hotels charge a destination fee, city by city

Cities with the most hotels using the name come first. A median is given where at least 5 hotels in a city state one, and the range below that. The hotel’s name opens everything we recorded about it, and each city ends with its rooms at the total price, the fee included.

New Orleans, LA

13 of the 14 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $20.00 to $35.00 a night (median $27.00). 1 more states a fee under another name.

See New Orleans rooms at the total price →Every New Orleans hotel we read

Boston, MA

11 of the 23 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $25.00 to $40.00 a night (median $35.00). 9 more state a fee under another name. 3 say they charge no resort fee.

See Boston rooms at the total price →Every Boston hotel we read

Los Angeles, CA

11 of the 24 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $30.00 to $50.00 a night (median $37.00). 12 more state a fee under another name. 1 says it charges no resort fee.

See Los Angeles rooms at the total price →Every Los Angeles hotel we read

Nashville, TN

10 of the 15 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $20.00 to $35.00 a night (median $26.50). 5 more state a fee under another name.

See Nashville rooms at the total price →Every Nashville hotel we read

Denver, CO

8 of the 13 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $28.00 to $35.00 a night (median $30.00). 4 more state a fee under another name. 1 says it charges no resort fee.

See Denver rooms at the total price →Every Denver hotel we read

San Francisco, CA

8 of the 23 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $30.00 to $41.19 a night (median $38.00). 11 more state a fee under another name. 4 say they charge no resort fee.

See San Francisco rooms at the total price →Every San Francisco hotel we read

Chicago, IL

7 of the 17 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $17.61 to $32.00 a night (median $25.00). 10 more state a fee under another name.

See Chicago rooms at the total price →Every Chicago hotel we read

Seattle, WA

5 of the 20 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $20.00 to $33.17 a night (median $29.00). 13 more state a fee under another name. 2 say they charge no resort fee.

See Seattle rooms at the total price →Every Seattle hotel we read

Washington, DC

5 of the 16 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $30.00 to $42.00 a night (median $35.00). 11 more state a fee under another name.

See Washington rooms at the total price →Every Washington hotel we read

Austin, TX

4 of the 9 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $18.00 to $45.00 a night. 5 more state a fee under another name.

See Austin rooms at the total price →Every Austin hotel we read

Dallas, TX

4 of the 9 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $25.00 to $50.00 a night. 5 more state a fee under another name.

  • Canvas Hotel Dallas

    “Destination Fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .

    $25.00

    a night

  • Sheraton Dallas Hotel

    “Destination Fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .

    Condition: The hotel's page says this fee is "included in room rate": the room rate marriott.com quotes for this hotel already contains the daily $25.

    $25.00

    a night

  • Hotel Crescent Court

    “Destination Fee”, plus tax · Hotel’s page, read .

    $40.00

    a night

  • Rosewood Mansion on Turtle Creek

    “Destination Fee”, plus tax · Hotel’s page, read .

    Also charges: “Rates are subject to 17% tax, including 2% Dallas Tourism Public Improvement Reimbursement Fee and a nightly Texas State Recovery Fee of $5.25 (excluding tax).” Not in the figure shown.

    $50.00

    a night

See Dallas rooms at the total price →Every Dallas hotel we read

Savannah, GA

4 of the 6 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $32.00 to $49.00 a night. 1 more states a fee under another name. 1 says it charges no resort fee.

See Savannah rooms at the total price →Every Savannah hotel we read

Charleston, SC

3 of the 7 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $2.00 to $38.00 a night. 3 more state a fee under another name. 1 says it charges no resort fee.

See Charleston rooms at the total price →Every Charleston hotel we read

Miami, FL

3 of the 9 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $26.00 to $54.00 a night. 6 more state a fee under another name.

See Miami rooms at the total price →Every Miami hotel we read

San Diego, CA

3 of the 21 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $25.00 to $42.00 a night. 13 more state a fee under another name. 5 say they charge no resort fee.

See San Diego rooms at the total price →Every San Diego hotel we read

Atlanta, GA

All 2 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: $35.00 a night.

See Atlanta rooms at the total price →Every Atlanta hotel we read

New York, NY

2 of the 18 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $30.00 to $40.00 a night. 13 more state a fee under another name. 3 say they charge no resort fee.

See New York rooms at the total price →Every New York hotel we read

Phoenix, AZ

2 of the 9 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $25.00 to $30.00 a night. 7 more state a fee under another name.

  • FOUND:RE Phoenix

    “Daily destination fee”, plus tax · Hotel’s page, read .

    $25.00

    a night

  • Sheraton Phoenix Downtown

    “Destination Fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .

    Condition: Not charged on government per diem rates: "Enjoy per diem rates with no destination fee at the Sheraton Phoenix Downtown." (marriott.com rooms page)

    $30.00

    a night

See Phoenix rooms at the total price →Every Phoenix hotel we read

San Antonio, TX

2 of the 5 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $22.00 to $30.00 a night. 3 more state a fee under another name.

See San Antonio rooms at the total price →Every San Antonio hotel we read

Sedona, AZ

2 of the 8 hotels whose own page said either way call their fee a destination fee: from $9.95 to $30.00 a night. 6 more state a fee under another name.

See Sedona rooms at the total price →Every Sedona hotel we read

Anaheim, CA

1 of the 5 hotels whose own page said either way calls its fee a destination fee: $12.00 a night. 1 more states a fee under another name. 3 say they charge no resort fee.

See Anaheim rooms at the total price →Every Anaheim hotel we read

Atlantic City, NJ

1 of the 7 hotels whose own page said either way calls its fee a destination fee: $25.00 a night. 6 more state a fee under another name.

See Atlantic City rooms at the total price →Every Atlantic City hotel we read

Fort Lauderdale, FL

1 of the 15 hotels whose own page said either way calls its fee a destination fee: $35.00 a night. 12 more state a fee under another name. 2 say they charge no resort fee.

See Fort Lauderdale rooms at the total price →Every Fort Lauderdale hotel we read

Honolulu, HI

1 of the 34 hotels whose own page said either way calls its fee a destination fee: $42.00 a night. 30 more state a fee under another name. 3 say they charge no resort fee.

See Honolulu rooms at the total price →Every Honolulu hotel we read

Scottsdale, AZ

1 of the 13 hotels whose own page said either way calls its fee a destination fee: $30.00 a night. 11 more state a fee under another name. 1 says it charges no resort fee.

See Scottsdale rooms at the total price →Every Scottsdale hotel we read

Questions people ask

What is a destination fee?
A charge per night that a hotel adds to the room rate and calls a destination fee. The hotels we read describe it as mandatory: charged whether or not you use anything it is said to cover. Loews New Orleans Hotel’s page puts it this way: “Loews New Orleans Hotel charges a daily destination fee of $30 per night plus tax.”
How much is a hotel destination fee?
At the 114 hotels whose own page names one, from $2.00 to $54.00 a night (median $30.00), before tax, read through 20 September 2026. The list on this page has each hotel’s figure.
Is tax charged on a destination fee?
Of the 114 hotels stating one, 77 say tax is added on top, 6 say nothing is added on top and 31 do not say. Nothing added on top can mean the figure already includes the tax.
Which cities have the most hotels charging a destination fee?
Counted as hotels using the name out of the hotels whose own page said either way: New Orleans (13 of 14), Boston (11 of 23), Los Angeles (11 of 24). Every city is on this page.
Can I refuse to pay a destination fee?
The hotels we read describe it as mandatory. 11 hotels attach a condition to the fee on their own page, printed beside the hotel on this page; no figure here applies it.

The same charge under the other names is in hotel amenity fee and destination fee, facility fee, resort fee; Marriott’s hotels are in Marriott destination fee and resort fee, and the hotels whose own page says they charge no resort fee are in hotels without resort fees.

Sources

  1. Each hotel’s own website — the fee, its name and what it covers, in the hotel’s words, read through 20 September 2026; linked on every hotel on this page.

What each city’s hotels charge

Every city page lists what each hotel states on its own website, with the link and the date we read it. The calculator totals a fee for your stay, tax included where the hotel states one.

Resort fee calculator →

How we check a fee · All cities

Find a hotel with every fee in the price

Search any US city or ZIP code. Resort fees and taxes are counted before any hotel is ranked, and each one is named.