Choice hotels whose page answered
7
State a nightly fee
6
Median a night, before tax
$14.98
Read on the hotels’ own pages through October 4, 2026, in 7 cities. A hotel counts as Choice’s when its name carries one of Choice’s brand names, Radisson’s among them in the United States, or its fee was read on choicehotels.com. Another 85 Choice hotels in our data could not be confirmed either way; a page we could not read says nothing, so they are in no figure here.
What Choice hotels charge, and what they call it
There is no one Choice fee: each hotel’s page names and prices its own. The names on the 6 pages that state one are “Hotel Service Fee” (2), “Destination Amenity Fee” (1), “Hotel services fee” (1), “Resort Fee” (1) and “Urban Fee” (1).
By the word in the hotel’s own name for it: with none of those words in the name, 3 hotels, from $3.00 to $30.00 a night; with “destination” in the name, 1 hotel, $20.00 a night; with “resort” in the name, 1 hotel, $9.95 a night; with “urban” in the name, 1 hotel, $26.00 a night, all before any tax added on top.
Cambria Hotel New Orleans Downtown Warehouse District, near the middle of the range, puts it this way on its own page: “The Destination Amenity Fee is $20 plus tax nightly and includes:”
For a 3-night stay that is from $9.00 to $90.00, $44.94 at the median, before any tax added on top.
What Choice hotels say the fee includes
Counted once per hotel, out of the 5 of 6 Choice hotels that say what their fee pays for. A hotel that lists nothing has not said its fee pays for nothing, and an item on the list is not a reason to pay it: the fee is the same whether or not you use any of it.
- Coffee or tea4 of 5
- Bottled water3 of 5
- Local or long-distance phone calls2 of 5
- Pool access or pool equipment2 of 5
- Wi-Fi or internet2 of 5
- Beach chairs, umbrellas or towels1 of 5
- Fitness center or gym1 of 5
- Parking1 of 5
- Shuttle or local transport1 of 5
- Spa, sauna or steam room1 of 5
Is tax added to the hotel fee?
Of the 6 Choice hotels stating a fee, 2 say tax is added on top and 4 do not say. Where tax is added, it is the local tax on hotel rooms, charged on the fee as it is on the room.
Every Choice hotel we have read that states a fee
The amount each states a night, the name its page uses, and the page we read it on, by city: Chicago, Clearwater Beach, Fort Lauderdale, Kissimmee, New Orleans, Sedona and South Lake Tahoe. The hotel’s name opens everything we recorded about it, with its rooms at the total price. By brand: Ascend Hotel Collection (2), Cambria (1), Quality Inn (1), Radisson Blu (1), Rodeway Inn (1).
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel, Chicago
Chicago · Radisson Blu · “Urban Fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .
$26.00
a night
Dolphin Sands Clearwater Beach, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Clearwater Beach · Ascend Hotel Collection · “Resort Fee”, plus tax · Hotel’s page, read .
$9.95
a night
Rodeway Inn & Suites Fort Lauderdale Airport & Cruise Port
Fort Lauderdale · Rodeway Inn · “Hotel Service Fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .
$7.00
a night
Cambria Hotel New Orleans Downtown Warehouse District
New Orleans · Cambria · “Destination Amenity Fee”, plus tax · Hotel’s page, read .
$20.00
a night
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel
Sedona · Ascend Hotel Collection · “Hotel service fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .
$30.00
a night
South Lake Tahoe · Quality Inn · “Hotel services fee”, tax not stated · Hotel’s page, read .
$3.00
a night
Choice hotels that say they charge no resort fee
1 hotel says so on its own page, in the words quoted. A sentence about a resort fee is not one about a fee under another name.
- Comfort Suites Maingate East · Kissimmee
“No Resort Fee. More Value, More Savings”
Questions people ask
- Do Choice hotels charge a resort fee?
- 6 of the 7 whose own page said either way do, under 5 names, most often “Hotel Service Fee”. Whatever a hotel calls it, a charge you cannot decline, per night, is part of the price of the room. 1 Choice hotel says on its own page that it charges no resort fee. Another 85 could not be confirmed either way, which tells you nothing about their fee.
- How much is the Choice hotel fee?
- At the 6 Choice hotels whose own page states one, from $3.00 to $30.00 a night (median $14.98), before any tax added on top, read through October 4, 2026. For a 3-night stay that is from $9.00 to $90.00, $44.94 at the median, before any tax added on top. The list on this page has each hotel’s own figure.
- Is tax added to the Choice hotel fee?
- Of the 6 Choice hotels stating a fee, 2 say tax is added on top and 4 do not say.
- What does the Choice hotel fee include?
- Each hotel sets its own list. Of the 5 Choice hotels that list what their fee pays for, the items named most often are coffee or tea, bottled water and local or long-distance phone calls. The fee is the same whether or not you use them.
- Can you avoid the Choice hotel fee?
- The hotels we read describe it as mandatory. None of these hotels attaches a condition to it on its own page. What changes it is the hotel you choose: a fee is set hotel by hotel, and it is the same whichever site sells the room.
Every company we have read is in resort fees by hotel company; the names hotels give the fee are in destination fee, facility fee, resort fee, and the calculator totals any of these fees for your stay.